Who we are

HCI research group

Prof. Dr. Klaus Opwis

Head of Department of General Psychology and Methodology
E-Mail
Tel. +41 61 207 35 29
Office 01.016 (HH)

Dr. Elisa Mekler

Research Director Human-Computer Interaction
E-Mail
Tel. +41 61 207 35 68
Office 01.004 (HH)

Glena Iten, M.Sc.

Assistant / PhD Student
E-Mail
Tel. +41 61 207 06 58
Office 01.006 (HH)

Sharon Steinemann, M.Sc.

Assistant / PhD Student
E-Mail
Tel. +41 61 207 35 25
Office 01.011 (HH)

Florian Brühlmann, M.Sc.

Assistant / PhD Student
E-Mail
Tel. +41 61 207 06 66
Office 01.003 (HH)

Julia Bopp, M.Sc.

Assistant / PhD Student
E-Mail
Tel. +41 61 207 35 68
Office 01.004 (HH)

Livia Müller, M.Sc.

Assistant / PhD Student
E-Mail
Tel. +41 61 207 55 42
Office 01.005 (HH)

Lars Frasseck, M.A.

Research Associate
E-Mail
Tel. +41 61 207 05 80
Office 00.005 (HH)

Lena Aeschbach, B.Sc.

Student research assistant
E-Mail
Tel. +41 61 207 05 63
Office 01.014 (HH)

Kamala Sachithananthan

Student research assistant
E-Mail
Tel. +41 61 207 05 63
Office 01.014 (HH)

Katja Rutz, B.Sc.

Student research assistant
E-Mail
Tel. +41 61 207 05 63
Office 01.014 (HH)

Dominik Kayser

Student research assistant
E-Mail
Tel. +41 61 207 05 63
Office 01.014 (HH)

Joel Siebenmann

Student research assistant
E-Mail
Tel. +41 61 207 05 63
Office 01.014 (HH)

and all our research interns

External lecturers

NAME COURSE CURRENT EMPLOYER
Dr. Javier Bargas-Avila Einführung in die MMI, Evaluationsmethoden der MMI Google Inc.
Dr. Stefan Leuthold Theoretische Modelle und Grundlagen der MMI; Unternehmensberatung in der MMI Stimmt AG
Dr. Chri[stian] Hübscher Konzeption von User Interfaces I & II www.ucd.ch

Master students

NAME E-MAIL MASTER PROGRAM SINCE
Pascal Benz, B.Sc. pascal.benz@stud.unibas.ch 2014
Oliver Thönen, B.Sc. oliver.thoenen@stud.unibas.ch 2015
Leo Stahl, B.Sc. l.stahl@stud.unibas.ch 2016
Jasmine Quanbrough, B.Sc. jasmine.quanbrough@stud.unibas.ch 2016
Pietro Caroni, B.Sc. p.caroni@stud.unibas.ch 2017
Vanessa Rita Lerch, B.Sc. vanessa.lerch@stud.unibas.ch 2017
Lena Aeschbach, B.Sc. lena.aeschbach@unibas.ch 2017
Katja Rutz, B.Sc. katja.rutz@unibas.ch 2017
Melanie Baumann, B.Sc. mel.baumann@stud.unibas.ch 2017
Philipp Baumgartner, B.Sc. philipp.baumgartner@stud.unibas.ch 2018
Manuel Heiz, B.Sc. manuel.heiz@stud.unibas.ch 2018
Daphne Margelli, B.Sc. d.margelli@unibas.ch 2018
Simon Wehrli, B.Sc. simon.wehrli@stud.unibas.ch 2018

External PhD candidates

NAME E-MAIL
Esther Federspiel esther.federspiel@unibas.ch
Sandra Cortesi s.cortesi@unibas.ch
Sebastian Linxen sebastian.linxen@unibas.ch
Sébastien Orsini s.orsini@unibas.ch
Serge Petralito s.petralito@unibas.ch
Yanik Sterchi yanik.sterchi@unibas.ch
Beat Vollenwyder beat.vollenwyder@unibas.ch

Alumni

NAME YEAR OF GRADUATION CURRENT EMPLOYER
Sarah Endress 2017 (M Sc)
Alina Gasser 2017 (M Sc)
Lisa Frese 2017 (M Sc)
Laura Quintana Gomez 2017 (M Sc)
Julia Mall 2017 (M Sc)
Fabian Martinis 2017 (M Sc) UX designer & Product Manager @ sharoo AG
Denise Rieser 2017 (M Sc)
Mathias Jenny 2017 (M Sc)
Antonin Troendle 2017 (M Sc)
Yanira Gonzalez 2016 (M Sc) User Research @Google Inc.
Seamus Forde 2016 (M Sc) UX Research @Royal Bank of Scotland
Livia Müller 2016 (M Sc) Doktorandin @Universität Basel
Orlando Bernhard 2016 (M Sc) Intern Usability Engineer @Roche
Julia Bopp 2016 (M Sc) Doktorandin @Universität Basel
Benedikt Merz 2016 (M Sc) UX Designer @Die Mobiliar
Marcel Schellenberg 2016 (M Sc) Usability Expert at Swiss International Air Lines
Clemens Steiner 2016 (M Sc) UX Researcher @Google Inc.
Florian Brühlmann 2015 (M Sc) Doktorand @Universität Basel
Katarzyna Hongler 2015 (M Sc)
Thomas Keller 2015 (M Sc) User Research @ Scout24 Schweiz AG
Anja Martig 2015 (M Sc) Interaction Designer @ Simplificator AG
Alessia Ruf 2015 (M Sc) Hochschule für Angewandte Psychologie, FHNW
Gian-Marco Schmid 2015 (M Sc) Praktikant @SRF-Data
Sharon Steinemann 2015 (M Sc) Doktorandin @Universität Basel
Anna Hanchar 2013 (M Sc) UX Spezialistin @ Zühlke Engineering AG
Dominik Seger 2013 (M Sc) Lokomotivführer i.A. @SBB
Glena Iten 2013 (M Sc) Doktorandin @Universität Basel
Carina Nougaeva 2012 (M Sc) Online Content Manager @Skin Revival Laser & Skin Clinic & Online Store (AUS)
Peter Hänggli 2012 (M Sc) Student @ Pädagogische Hochschule
David Tschapnizky 2011 (M Sc) UX Researcher @Google Inc.
Andreas Aeberhard 2011 (M Sc) Doktorand & IT-Administrator @Universität Basel
Sandra Seckelmann 2011 (M Sc)
Dr. Elisa Mekler 2016 (Ph.D.) Post Doctoral Fellow @Universität Basel
Philippe Chresta 2011 (M Sc) IT-Administrator @Universität Basel
Serge Petralito 2011 (M Sc)
Dr. Mirjam Seckler 2015 (Ph.D.) UX Researcher @Google Inc.
Josef Schönhammer 2010 (M Sc) Research Assistent @Université de Genève
Dr. David Weber 2010 (M Sc) Safety Researcher/Adviser @Origin Energy (AUS)
Sandra Cortesi 2009 (M Sc) Fellow @Berkman Center (USA)
Dr. Silvia Heinz 2015 (Ph.D.) Postdoktorandin @Universität Basel
Olivia Brenzikofer 2009 (M Sc)
Lorenz Ritzmann 2009 (M Sc) Business Analyst @ Basel-Stadt
Jakob Boss 2009 (M Sc) Head of User Experience Design @Die Mobiliar
Sebastian Linxen 2009 (M Sc) Dozent @FHNW Basel
Sébastien Orsini 2008 (M Sc) Channel Manager Collaboration @Post
Eui-Jee Hah 2008 (M Sc)
Patrick Keller 2008 (M Sc) Global Head of UX @Novartis (NIBR)
Noemi Gsponer 2008 (M Sc) UX Designer @Ergosign
Wenzel Regli 2008 (M Sc)
Marco de Vito 2007 (M Sc) Consultant @NOVO Business Consultants AG
Dr. Alexandre Tuch 2011 (Ph.D.) Scientific Project Manager @Bundesamt für Statistik
Martin Rohner 2006 (M Sc) Leanmanager @TRUMPF
Dr. Sandra Roth 2010 (Ph.D.) Senior Manager Usability Engineering & Software Architecture @ Roche Molecular Systems
Dr. Peter Schmutz 2010 (Ph.D.) UX Expert @Migros Genossenschafts Bund
Dr. Stefan Pauwels 2010 (Ph.D.) Business Engineer @ZKB
Dr. Stefan Leuthold 2010 (Ph.D.) Partner und CEO @Stimmt AG
Dr. Javier Bargas-Avila 2009 (Ph.D.) Staff UX Researcher & Manager @Google Inc.